World Fish

The African Union Policy Framework and Reform Strategy for Fisheries and Aquaculture in Africa prioritizes fish trade and aims to promote responsible and equitable fish trade.

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) - 15 African Member States

ECOWAS, based in Abuja, Nigeria, was established on 28th May 1975 as a community of fifteen Member States. It was created as a Regional Economic Community aiming at promoting cooperation and development, abolishing trade restrictions, removing the obstacles to the free movement of people, goods and services, and harmonising sectoral policies. The overriding objective of the establishment of ECOWAS is the establishment of a Common Market, and the creation of a Monetary Union characterized by a single currency and a common Central Bank.

Web Link Intergovernmental Authority on Development - 7 African Member States

The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), based in Djibouti, was created in 1996 to supersede the Intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development (IGADD) which was founded in 1986. The IGAD Mission is to assist and complement the efforts of the Member States to achieve, through increased cooperation in the areas of food security and environmental protection, promotion and maintenance of peace and security and humanitarian affairs and, economic cooperation and integration.

Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) - 15 African Member States

The Southern African Development Community (SADC), based in Gaborone, Botswana, started as Frontline States whose objective was political liberation of Southern Africa. SADC, launched in 1992, was preceded by the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC), which was formed in Lusaka, Zambia on 1st April 1980 with the adoption of the Lusaka Declaration (Southern Africa: Towards Economic Liberation).

Economic Community of Central African States

The Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS), based in Libreville, Gabon, was established on 18th October 1983 by merging Central African Customs and Economic Union (UCEAC) and the Economic Community of the Great Lakes States (CEPGL). Sao Tomé & Principe and Angola became full members in 1999. Rwanda resumed full membership in 2002. ECCAS became operational in 1985. The over-arching objective of the Community is to establish a trade system between the Member Countries free of customs, administrative and other obstacles and to achieve economic integration.

The East African Community

The East African Community (EAC), based in Arusha, Tanzania, is the Regional Intergovernmental Organisation of five East African Nations. The Treaty for Establishment of the East African Community was signed on 30th November 1999 and entered into force on 7th July 2000 following its ratification by the original three Partner States – Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda. The Republics of Rwanda and Burundi acceded to the EAC Treaty on 18th June 2007 and became full members of the Community with effect from 1st July 2007.

Community of Sahel-Saharan States

The Community of Sahel-Saharan States CEN-SAD, based in Tripoli, Libya, is a framework for integration and complementarity. Its vision is to work, together with the other Regional Economic Communities and the African Union, to strengthen peace, security and stability and achieve global economic and social development. CEN-SAD was established on 4th February 1998 following the Conference of Leaders and Heads of States held in Tripoli, Libya.

Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa, based in Lusaka, Zambia, was founded in 1993 as a successor to the Preferential Trade Area for Eastern and Southern Africa (PTA), which was established in 1981. COMESA's Vision is to be a fully integrated, internationally competitive Regional Economic Community with high standards of living for all of its people ready to merge into an African Economic Community.

Subscribe to Strategic Collaborative Partners